In 1789, the bastion marking the north border of Pest was demolished. In its place a theatre was envisioned, but due to lack of funds construction only started in 1829. The architect Mihály Pollack was commissioned with the design, leading to the construction of the Redoute, the predecessor to today’s Vigadó. The building was a masterpiece of Classicist architecture in Pest, hosting its first ball in 1833. The Redoute was then almost completely destroyed by cannon fire from the Austrian castle defenders in May 1848. Reconstruction started in 1859, based on the plans of Frigyes Feszl, who wished to establish a unique style of Hungarian architecture. The new palace was opened in 1865. The building was severely damaged during WWII.In 1954, the Vigadó was added to the list of protected monuments. Renovation and remodelling began in 1968. The rejuvenated Vigadó was opened to the public on 15 March 1980. After another period of decline, the Pesti Vigadó was closed again in 2004. Since 2014, the building has been restored almost completely to its original glory. The ceiling paintings and statues could not be rescued, but the main staircase and lobby have reclaimed their past grandeur. The Kamaraterem was renovated. New spaces were also added in the Vigadó, such as a performance and exhibition hall on the 5th floor.